Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


You are here: Home / 2016 / ICOR resolution on the failed coup attempt in Turkey on 15 July 2016

ICOR resolution on the failed coup attempt in Turkey on 15 July 2016

ICOR-Resolution, 16-07-2016


In the night of 15 July 2016 parts of the Turkish military staged a coup against the reactionary Erdogan regime. Tanks appeared, F-16 jets thundered over Ankara and Istanbul, some strategically important positions like the Bosporus bridge, airports, public TV stations were occupied, police forces were disarmed. There were explosions and fierce shootings. At about 11 pm, the coup plotters announced “The power in the country has been taken over in its entirety.” But still during that night, the tide began to turn. The majority of the bourgeois state apparatus took a stand against them and backed Erdogan. In many towns of Turkey masses took to the streets for and against Erdogan. Around 4 am, Erdogan announced the defeat of the attempted coup. At least 265 people are said to have been killed and 1440 injured. The Erdogan regime immediately started with large scale purges, arrests and executions among the military.

As opposed to the military coups in 1971 and 1980, this time it was not the extremely reactionary and fascist forces staging a coup against the progressive and revolutionary movement. This failed coup attempt has to do with a sharp conflict within the Turkish bourgeoisie. Parts of the military revolted against the increasing international isolation of Turkey developing because of Erdogan's course of intensifying aggressive internal and external politics and advocating his autonomous power political interests. This is underlined by the demagogic statement of the coup plotters promising the “protection of the constitutional order, human rights and liberties, compliance with the law” and the “restoration of general safety”.

During the course of the night international finance capital and a large number of imperialist governments adopted a position backing Erdogan after the defeat of the coup, because they were fearing that coup methods will further increase the instability of the ruling order. The defeat of the attempted coup is a victory of Erdogan in this struggle over power within the ruling class. In the meantime the Erdogan government calls the coup a 'gift of God' and with fascistic methods practices extensive purges among the military and the state apparatus as well as against critical, progressive and revolutionary forces. That aims at stepping up the autocratic rule of the Erdogan regime.

The revolutionary proletariat is fiercely resisting against the Erdogan regime and its increasing state terror against any democratic and revolutionary movement of the people. However, it also condemns the coup of the military which suppresses any independent activity of the working class and the broad masses by proclaiming martial law and which does not represent a true alternative.

The proletariat and the broad masses must go their own path, fight for freedom and democracy and stride forward to socialism! Their road is neither on the side of the coup plotters nor of the ultra reactionary Erdogan regime.

In the commotion the masses must be mobilized under the slogan: Defend democracy and freedom – forward to socialism!

It is this struggle that the international solidarity of ICOR refers to, stating at its 2nd World Conference in a resolution:

The 2nd ICOR World Conference expresses its solidarity with the struggles of the peoples of Turkey and Kurdistan and the fighting revolutionary forces there. Long live the liberation struggle of the peoples! Long live proletarian internationalism! Long live Marxism-Leninism!”


Signatories (as of 18 July 2016, further signatories possible):

  1. RCP Revolutionary Communist Party of Egypt

  2. ORC Organisation Révolutionnaire du Congo (Revolutionary Organization of Congo), Democratic Republic of the Congo

  3. MMLPL Moroccan Marxist-Leninist Proletarian Line

  4. CPSA (ML) Communist Party of South Africa (Marxist-Leninist)

  5. PPDS Parti Patriotique Démocratique Socialiste (Patriotic Democratic Socialist Party), Tunisia

  6. MLOA Marxist-Leninist Organization of Afghanistan

  7. CPI (ML) Red Star Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star

  8. PCC CPI (ML) Provisional Central Committee Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist)

  9. NCP (Mashal) Nepal Communist Party (Mashal)

  10. APTUF All Pakistan Trade Union Federation

  11. WWO Working Women Organization, Pakistan

  12. NDMLP New-Democratic Marxist-Leninist Party, Sri Lanka

  13. БКП Българска Комунистическа Партия (Bulgarian Communist Party)

  14. БРП(к) Българска Работническа Партия (комунисти) (Bulgarian Workers Party (Communist))

  15. MLPD Marxistisch-Leninistische Partei Deutschlands (Marxist-Leninist Party of Germany)

  16. RM Rode Morgen (Red Dawn), Netherlands

  17. MLP Marksistsko-Leninskaja Platforma (Marxist-Leninist Platform), Russia

  18. VZDOR VZDOR - strana práce (Resistance - labour party), Slovakia

  19. MLGS Marxistisch-Leninistische Gruppe Schweiz (Marxist-Leninist Group of Switzerland)

  20. TIKB Türkiye İhtilalci Komünistler Birliği (Union of Revolutionary Communists of Turkey)

  21. MLKP Marksist Leninist Komünist Parti Türkiye / Kürdistan (Marxist Leninist Communist Party Turkey / Kurdistan)

  22. KSRD Koordinazionnyj Sowjet Rabotschewo Dvizhenija (Coordination Council of the Workers Class Movement), Ukraine

  23. PR Partija Rada (Party of Labor), Yugoslavia (ex)

  24. PC(MLM) Partido Comunista (Marxista-Leninista-Maoísta) de Bolivia (Communist Party (Marxist-Leninist-Maoist) of Bolivia)

  25. PC (ML) Partido Comunista (Marxista Leninista) (Communist Party (Marxist-Leninist)), Dominican Republic

  26. PCP (independiente) Partido Comunista Paraguayo (independiente) (Paraguayan Communist Party (independent))

  27. PPP Partido Proletario del Perú (Proletarian Party of Peru)

  28. PS-GdT Plataforma Socialista - Golpe de Timón (Socialist Platform - Kurswechsel), Venezuela

Signed after the release date:

  1. CPB Communist Party of Bangladesh

  2. Ranjbaran Hezb-e Ranjbaran-e Iran (Proletarian Party of Iran)

  3. Krasnyj Klin Gruppa Kommunistov-Revoljucionerov „Krasnyj Klin“ (Group of Communist Revolutionaries “Krasnyj Klin” [Red Wedge]), Belarus

  4. SMKC Svaz Mladych Komunistu Cheskoslovenska (Union of young Communists of Czechoslovakia), Czech Republic

  5. BP (NK-T) Bolşevik Parti (Kuzey Kürdistan-Türkiye) (Bolshevik Party (North Kurdistan-Turkey))

  6. PCC-M Partido Comunista de Colombia – Maoista (Communist Party of Colombia - Maoist)

  7. NPCH (ML) Nouveau Parti Communiste Haϊtien (Marxiste-Léniniste) (New Communist Party of Haiti (Marxist-Leninist))

  8. PML del Perú Partido Marxista Leninista del Perú (Marxist-Leninist Party of Peru)

  9. KSC-CSSP Komunisticka Strana Cheskoslovenska – Cheskoslovenska Strana Prace (Communist Party of Czechoslovakia – Czechoslovakian Workers Party), Czech Republic

  10. PC/ML Partido Comunista (Marxista-Leninista) de Panamá (Communist Party (Marxist-Leninist) of Panama)

  11. KOL Kommunistische Organisation Luxemburg (Communist Organization of Luxemburg)

Additional Signatories (Non-ICOR):

  1. PR-ByH Partija Rada - ByH (Party of Labor - Bosnia and Herzegovina), Bosnia and Herzegovina


download as pdf

International Coordination of Revolutionary Parties and Organizations

- Office of the ICC -

Buerer Strasse 39

D-45899 Gelsenkirchen


Phone: + 49-209-3597479



Document Actions