Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


You are here: Home / 2017 / Resolution on the Bhangor movement

Resolution on the Bhangor movement

ICOR-Resolution, 29th June 2017


The people in Bhangor in West Bengal in India are fighting a fierce struggle. Led by the The Committee to Save Life, Livelihood, Environment and Ecology (Jomi Jibika, Poribesh evam Bastutantra Suraksha Samiti) they are fighting against the 400 KV power grid that is being forced upon them. The struggle has been going on now for many months. The population is resisting the predatory, destructive land-grabbing and the harm for humans and animals (mainly fish-farming) which are to be expected by the electromagnetic fields.

Due to the fierce resistance of the people the Trinamool Congress (TMC) Government of West Bengal has had to give up the project for the time being. This was only after the resistance was such as to make martyrs out of two youth who died by police bullets during the resistance. Hundreds of local people have been arrested including Coms. Pradeep Singh Thakur and Sharmistha Choudhury and other leading comrades of the CPI (ML) Red Star. However, in an undemocratic and illegal manner, without any consultation with the people, the Government is still planning to carry on with the project whenever it is able.

In an attempt to break the resistance, the Government has illegally charged those arrested under the Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA) which is to be used against organizations which the government calls as “terrorist” organisations. Massive protests have taken place all over the state demanding scrapping of the project, abolition of UAPA, release of all arrested and compensation to those affected. All left parties including CPI, CPI (M), CPI (ML) Liberation, PCC CPI (ML) and many others have come together in these protests. We also offer our international solidarity to these protests.

Today, TMC goons are roaming the streets in the area around the 15 affected villages. Not being able to penetrate the villages themselves, they have resorted to attacking the villagers whenever they are coming out of the villages. The villages are facing an economic blockade. The villagers are beaten up or arrested even if they leave the villages to go for essential shopping or to attend to bank or official work, etc. Essentials like milk and vegetables are not allowed to enter the villages. Even a team including a retired Judge of the High Court was stopped and beaten.

We fully support the struggle of the people of Bhangor for their lives, livelihood, for the environment and for ecology. We demand an immediate stoppage of the economic blockade of the villages of Bhangor. We call upon all democratic and left forces in India to take up this question as a question not only of the environment but of democratic rights. We will work to inform the working class and the oppressed people in our own countries of this movement and to mobilise them also in support.


Signatories (as of 28th of June, 2017, further signatories possible):

  1. ORC Organisation Révolutionnaire du Congo (Revolutionary Organization of Congo), Democratic Republic of the Congo

  2. MMLPL Moroccan Marxist-Leninist Proletarian Line

  3. CPSA (ML) Communist Party of South Africa (Marxist-Leninist)

  4. MLOA Marxist-Leninist Organization of Afghanistan

  5. CPB Communist Party of Bangladesh

  6. CPI (ML) Red Star Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star

  7. Ranjbaran Hezb-e Ranjbaran-e Iran (Proletarian Party of Iran)

  8. NDMLP New-Democratic Marxist-Leninist Party, Sri Lanka

  9. Krasnyj Klin Gruppa Kommunistov-Revoljucionerov „Krasnyj Klin“ (Group of Communist Revolutionaries “Krasnyj Klin” [Red Wedge]), Belarus

  10. БКП Българска Комунистическа Партия (Bulgarian Communist Party)

  11. БРП(к) Българска Работническа Партия (комунисти) (Bulgarian Workers Party (Communist))

  12. KSC-CSSP Komunisticka Strana Cheskoslovenska – Cheskoslovenska Strana Prace (Communist Party of Czechoslovakia – Czechoslovakian Workers Party), Czech Republic

  13. MLPD Marxistisch-Leninistische Partei Deutschlands (Marxist-Leninist Party of Germany)

  14. KOL Kommunistische Organisation Luxemburg (Communist Organization of Luxemburg)

  15. RM Rode Morgen (Red Dawn), Netherlands

  16. BP (NK-T) Bolşevik Parti (Kuzey Kürdistan-Türkiye) (Bolshevik Party (North Kurdistan-Turkey))

  17. MLP Marksistsko-Leninskaja Platforma (Marxist-Leninist Platform), Russia

  18. RMP Российская маоистская партия (Rossijskaya maoistskaya partiya) (Russian Maoist Party)

  19. MLGS Marxistisch-Leninistische Gruppe Schweiz (Marxist-Leninist Group of Switzerland)

  20. TIKB Türkiye İhtilalci Komünistler Birliği (Union of Revolutionary Communists of Turkey)

  21. KSRD Koordinazionnyj Sowjet Rabotschewo Dvizhenija (Coordination Council of the Workers Class Movement), Ukraine

  22. PR Partija Rada (Party of Labor), Yugoslavia (ex)

  23. PR-ByH Partija Rada - ByH (Party of Labor - Bosnia and Herzegovina), Bosnia and Herzegovina

  24. PCC-M Partido Comunista de Colombia – Maoista (Communist Party of Colombia - Maoist)

  25. PC (ML) Partido Comunista (Marxista Leninista) (Communist Party (Marxist-Leninist)), Dominican Republic

  26. PC/ML Partido Comunista (Marxista-Leninista) de Panamá (Communist Party (Marxist-Leninist) of Panama)

  27. PML del Perú Partido Marxista Leninista del Perú (Marxist-Leninist Party of Peru)

  28. PPDS Parti Patriotique Démocratique Socialiste (Patriotic Democratic Socialist Party), Tunisia


    Signed after the release date:

  29. SMKC Svaz Mladych Komunistu Cheskoslovenska (Union of young Communists of Czechoslovakia), Czech Republic

  30. MLKP Marksist Leninist Komünist Parti Türkiye / Kürdistan (Marxist Leninist Communist Party Turkey / Kurdistan)

  31. ROL Revolutionary Organization of Labor, USA


    Additional Signatories (Non-ICOR):

    Trotz alledem!, Germany

download as PDF

Document Actions